EVENT イベント

SIAF2024 Ars Electronica Days: Pianographique



  • Music event
  • Other
Photo by Tom Mesic

“Pianographique” is a series of collaborations of Cori O’Lan, a digital visual artist, with pianists, Maki Namekawa and Dennis Russell Davies.

This performance is composed of the piano music played by two pianists and the real-time visualization of digital images that are derived from information of the sounds; such as frequency, pitch, and volume.

Picked from classic to contemporary, the program is filled with very unique selections of pieces.

With three artists from Linz, Austria, the SIAF2024 Ars Electronica Days offers this special night program to you.

DateFeb 3 (Sat)
6:00 PM–7:30 PM
VenueRokkatei Fukinoto Hall
AddressRokkatei Sapporo Flagship Store 6th floor, 3-3, Kita 4-jo Nishi 6-chome, Chuo-ku, Sapporo
ArtistsPianists: NAMEKAWA Maki, Dennis Russell DAVIES
Real-time Visualization: Cori OʼLan

Maki Namekawa

Photo by Andreas H. Bitesnich

Maki Namekawa is one of the most leading concert pianists of our time, performing regularly on international stages such as Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center New York, Musikverein Vienna, Philharmonie de Paris, Barbican Centre London, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Salzburg Festival, Holland Festival, Piano-Festival Ruhr, and the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz, Austria. 
In 2013, she performed for the first time ever the complete cycle of Philip Glass’s 20 Piano Etudes with the composer’s participation at the Perth Festival in Australia (Perth International Arts Festival). Since then, she has successfully performed the Glass Etudes in 16 European countries, in Mexico, Brazil, Japan and the USA. 2014 saw the release of the critically acclaimed CD »Complete Piano Etudes«. This was followed in September 2018 by the world premiere of the piano version of Philip Glass’ »Mishima« at the Ars Electronica Festival, which Namekawa recorded and for which she received the Pasticcio Prize from ORF, as well as her CD »Isang Yun: Sunrise Falling« (2019). 
In July 2019, she gave the world premiere of Philip Glass’ »Piano Sonata« took place as part of the Piano-Festival Ruhr. »Piano Sonata« had been commissioned by the Piano-Festival Ruhr, the Philharmonie de Paris and the Ars Electronica Festival. The American premiere of this work followed in 2019 in New York, the French premiere in 2022 at the Philharmonie de Paris. The BBC Music Magazine gave Namekawa’s recording of the »Piano Sonata« the highest recommendation, also for her previous cycle of the Glass 20 Piano Etudes. In July 2023, she performed the world premiere of Philip Glass’ »M – Concerto for Piano and Orchestra« at the Piano-Festival Ruhr’s closing concert, which was received with overwhelming public and critical acclaim.

Dennis Russell Davies 

Photo by Andreas H. Bitesnich

Dennis Russell Davies was born in Ohio in 1944 and studied piano and conducting at New York’s Juilliard School. He began his career as principal conductor of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, founded the American Composers Orchestra New York in 1977. In the 1980ies, he became GMD of the StaatstheaterStuttgart and GMD of the city of Bonn. As principal conductor, he led the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, and held a professorship in conducting at the Salzburg Mozarteum from 1997 to 2009. From 2002 to 2017 he was opera director and principal conductor of the Bruckner Orchestra Linz and from 2009 to 2016 principal conductor of the Basel Symphony Orchestra. Since the beginning of the 2018/19 season, he has been Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the Filharmonie Brno, and in September 2020 he assumed the post of Principal Conductor at the MDR Symphony Orchestra.

Cori O’Lan
Cori O’Lan works at the crossroads of art and technology since the late 1980ies. Recently he has been focusing on realtime-computer-visualisation of orchestra and piano music. In a long term collaboration with the Ars Electronica Futurelab, the pianist Maki Namekawa and the conductor Dennis Russell Davies, he has been developing a unique style of “accompanying visualisations.” In this projects he works with elaborated realtime analysis of various sonic parameters of the music to be visually interpreted.
The aim is always to go beyond a direct, “mechanical” translation of sound-data into visual-data but to create kind of living, organic entities which have already their own behavior – derived from the general characteristics of a music piece – and on top of this listens to the music and responds in realtime to it.
These visual-concert-projects have been presented in New York, Los Angeles, Brussels, Tokyo, Abu Dhabi and at Ars Electronica Linz.
ProgramMaurice Ravel: Ma Mère l’Oye (Mother Goose) 
– Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant (Pavane of Sleeping Beauty) 
– Petit Poucet (Little Tom Thumb) 
– Laideronnette, Impératrice des Pagodes (Empress of the Pagodas) 
– Les Entretiens de la Belle et de la Bête (Conversations of Beauty and the Beast)
– Le jardin féerique (The Fairy Garden) 

John Cage: from “The Seasons”
– Winter
– Spring 
(Piano Solo: Dennis Russell Davies) 

Hania Rani  
– Hawaii Oslo
– Eden
– Glass 
(Piano Solo: Maki Namekawa) 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: from Opera “Die Zauberflöte” (The Magic Flute)
arranged for piano four-hands by Alexander Zemlinsky
– Bei Männern welche Liebe fühlen (Men who feel the call of love)
– Der Vogelfänger bin ich ja (The Birdcatcher am I) 
– Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen (Queen of the Night aria) 

Philip Glass
– Elergy for the Present 
(Piano Solo: Dennis Russell Davies) 

Philip Glass: Three Pieces for Four Hands 
– Orphee (Interlude)
– The Voyage 
– Stokes 
InquirySapporo International Art Festival Executive Committee Secretariat
Tel: +81-11-211-2314
E-mail: event@siaf.jp